i’m drowning. the beginning of the semester (like all beginnings of all semesters) went quite nicely. i had plenty of time to set up shoots and never worried about where my next model would come from. i worked 40 hours a week with my second job and didn’t have a care.

the end of the semester (like all ends of all semesters) is a different story. i’m drowning. i have too many papers and too many projects due in too little of time. i’m going to have to start paying people to model even though i dont have time to work at my second job, therefore i have no money to offer. my priorities need to be shifted. dramatically.

otherwise, my work is going along at a steady pace. each time i set up a shoot i get more excited about my concept. however, i’m afraid that i’m not making my concept clear. i have work on the photography exchange here on wordpress, and without my explanation, people aren’t understanding my images.

one person critiqued and said that if i wanted to acknowledge Virginia Woolf, i should have stones in my image. there are stones…they’re sitting on the toilet seat and she’s even placing one large stone in her pocket. 

my problem is in showing homage to how they committed suicide without making that the point of the image. i want to focus on the feeling – that fleeting last moment of one’s life. i fear i may be failing.