i dont have heat in my apartment. sucks, right? i loathe going home each day because the temperature averages around 45-55 throughout the place. what i hate even more is that I’M not the one who has to put up with it 24 hours a day…i get a break while i’m on campus or at work or visiting a friend (preferably one with heat). however, my kitty Adrian sneezes her face off all night (normally directly into my face…just to get her point across) and it’s starting to weigh on my conscience. 

unfortunately i have $11.73 in my bank account, so the heat is not getting turned on any time soon.

 

other than that, nothing new has happened. i decided to switch my smith hall project around, but a lot of the images i’ve shot coincide with my new concept. 

i was telling another photography student about the night i thought i was getting robbed on the second floor. it was 1-2 in the morning and i was working alone in the darkroom. i stepped out into the hall to get a breath of fresh air and noticed a group of boys at the end of the hall with hoods over their heads. i slowly stepped back into the room and shut the door, and i immediately heard them coming down the hall. one guy whispered “which room was it?” and i freaked, haha. there’s no way to lock the room from the inside, so i ran back into the corridors of the darkroom and hid until someone came to save me.

no one ever came in, but i’m glad that i knew that darkroom like the back of my hand. 

soooooooooooooooo…….for my smith hall project, i want to photograph the parts of the building that typically go unnoticed. it could be a cubby hole in the darkroom, a white tile on the floor, a note written in a bathroom stall…but all these little things make up your experience of being here.

ohh snap it’s time to leave.